Maison Kayser

If anyone asks me what is the best cure for Monday blues, I would say, go get a MC (medical certificate) and skip work for the day. Well, one can only use that excuse sparingly. I guess the next best thing would be to start the day with an awesome breakfast.

Maison Kayser, the celebrated French bakery has finally made it ways to our tiny shore. And I have been hearing nothing but praises for this bakery. So on a Monday morning, I trotted my way to the newly open chi-chi Scotts Square and was amazed there was a queue at 9am.

Once I was near the display counter, I don’t know what I should have. I looked left, right and everywhere. There were so many choices – pastries, bread, cakes. In the end, I settled for the classic croissant and a cappuccino.

We all need to start our morning this way

Why are you not warm up?

When I tear up the croissant, I was surprised that it was not warm, and I was slightly disappointed. The croissant itself was buttery and fluffy, but I really wanted it warm*, hearing that shattering sound when I bite into it.

Financier

The cappuccino that I ordered came with a small financier (which they also sell them in bags). The plain almond financier was very sweet but it went very well with the dark rich cappuccino. While I was checking my receipt, I realised how reasonably priced was the croissant. It was only S$2.60 but the coffee was the shocker – S$6. It has been awhile since I pay that much for coffee.

Of course, I cannot leave the place with just having a croissant. I bought quite a bit of pastries home too – chocolate éclair, citron tart, pain au chocolat and pain au fromage.

I love the chocolate éclair. The choux pastry was not “eggy” or light like the ones I usually would have. Rather it was dense, chewy and almost pie crust like and I really quite enjoyed it. Maison Kayser was also very generous with the chocolate filling – which was rich and sweet.

Chocolate eclair and citron tart

The pastry I most look forward to was the citron tart. I have this affinity for all things sour and lemon. However this tart was very sour. For someone who loves sour things, this tart was unbearably sour. It took me quite some time to finish it.

For the pain au chocolat and pain au fromage which I had a couple days later for breakfast**, they were equally delicious. I especially enjoyed the pain au chocolate – warm, crispy and the melting chocolat. Délicieux!

These days, it is becoming near impossible for me to go Maison Kayser and not get anything. For a city bakery, the prices are very reasonable (except for the coffee, in my opinion) and almost everything is delicious. And yes I am thoroughly addicted the smell of fresh bakes.

 

*A couple days later, I went back to Maison Kayser and brought home some of the croissants. The next day, I defrosted and toasted the croissant – it was divine! Pastries must always serve warm.

**If you plan to buy the pastries and keep them for breakfast, I would strongly recommend to put them in the freezer, even if you are having them the next day. Putting in the fridge or leaving them at room temperature, I feel, will deteriorate the texture and taste of the pastries.

 

Maison Kayser
6 Scotts Road, Scotts Square, #B1-09
+6566363672
Open daily from 8am – 8pm
Leave a Reply

