bill granger’s butterscotch madeleines

I am a big fan of bills, Sydney, specifically Bill Granger. Last year, I got a copy of his cookbook, Bill’s Basics which gave a novice cook all the basic recipes. One of the recipes that I was drawn to was Butterscotch Madeleines*.

Butterscotch madeleines

I love madeleines – Dorie Greenspan got me hook onto them. However at times I don’t have the patience to let the batter sit overnight and Bill Granger version doesn’t require that.

The ingredients and methods were simple and easy to follow. Like Granger, I do urge you to get a madeleines mould**. They are not too difficult to find. I got mine from Phoon Huat, and I heard you might be able to get it from Daiso. And really the bakes look so pretty.

The signature "hump"

One of the keys to making Butterscotch Madeleines was to fill up the mould. I under-filled the first round, and I did not get the hump which was the signature of madeleines.

Present

I am quite stunned how fast it took to make the madeleines – around 30 minutes, including bake time. If you need something sweet and buttery and fast, go make some madeleines.

 

*For the caster sugar, I reduced it by half. For golden syrup, I preferred to use Lyle.

**At Phoon Huat, you can also get silicon madeleines mould. I got the small one and I don’t fancy it. The madeleines turned out pale which looked quite sad. I think metal or non-stick is still the way to go.

Leave a Reply

