chomp chomp and dessert bowl

Since I moved to Serangoon/ Hougang 26 years ago, Serangoon Gardens is one of my frequent “playgrounds”. When I was a kid, I would follow Papa Ng (aka my dad) to Chomp Chomp Hawker Centre and get takeaways for family dinner. We would go overboard and order as much as possible. There was always leftover.

It's a GIANT!

Our little feast

26 years later, Chomp Chomp Hawker Centre is still awesome. (Almost) everything at the hawker centre is delicious. My friend, Amy (Pikaland) was in town a couple of months ago and she was staying at my place, and I know it will not be right if she did not
go to Chomp Chomp.

Oyster omelette

Barbecue chicken wings

Hokkien mee

We ordered a few plates to share – hokkien mee, oyster omelette, satay(satay!!!), chicken wings and not forgetting the infamous giant sugarcane juice! Everything at our table was delicious. We wiped out our food pretty fast, and I brought Amy to another joint for dessert.

Satay!

Giddy goodness

Dessert Bowl (一碗甜品) opened about 2-3 years back and they are located right above a (sleazy) pub. Despite the appearance, the desserts are outstanding. My all time favourite is their mango pomelo sago – sweet, smooth, and you get a good bite from the pomelo and sago. Amy ordered the honeydew sago which was a bit bland for me.

Dessert bowl

Mango pomelo

Honeydew sago

Though Serangoon Gardens and Chomp Chomp received some minor makeovers, and got a little bit fancy, I still heart the place. It is like a cute little town with all these quirks and personality, and definitely worth a  visit.

 

Chomp Chomp Hawker Centre
20 Kensington Park Road
Open at night
Dessert Bowl 一碗甜品
80A Serangoon Garden Way
Tue-Thu: 12pm-10:30pm; Fri-Sun: 12pm-12am
One thought on “chomp chomp and dessert bowl

Leave a Reply

