hatched

In my quest to search for breakfast spots, I chanced upon Hatched.

2011 Catalog of Eggs

So many choices!

Hatched served all day breakfast and their specialty is, naturally, eggs. Some of you might know that I am not a fan of eggs. I do not fancy the “yolk” taste. However when eggs are served with sauces, or scrambled (loaded with a lot of milk or cream), it’s another story.

As I flipped through Hatched’s 2011 Catalog of Eggs, I was dumbfounded by the selection and the preparation methods – boiled, poached, fried, baked – you name it, they have it.

Burly Benedict (S$12)

Though I will like to stick with the classic (aka Egg Benedict), I decided to go for the Burly Benedict – English muffin topped with poached egg, corned beef and Mornay sauce, served with sautéed potatoes and salad.

A good poached egg

Coffee! with a heart!

The poached egg was cooked beautifully. When my knife cut open the egg, the yolk just oozed out, coating the corn beef. The Mornay sauce was savoury and rich. This was one frigging filling and “burly” breakfast. I was also happy to see Hatched served one of my favourite coffee – Illy.

Salt and pepper shaker

The only drawback about Hatched is its location. It is not very accessible via public transport (I took a cab). Still, it’s a must-go if you are a fan of “eggs”.

Hatched
26 Evans Road
#01-06 Evans Lodge
Tel: +65 6735 0012
8am – 10pm. Closed on Monday
Leave a Reply

